>Post Partum Anxiety

>Up until today, I had no idea there was such a thing called post partum anxiety. I assumed that what I had ( severe anxiety) was unrelated to my having given birth two years ago. Once I was told about the disorder I knew it was exactly what I had, coupled with bouts of post partum depression ( which, thanks to Chinese medicine, is no longer affecting me…save when I forget to take my herbs).
Now that I have begun to research further, I wanted to reach out to any other mothers who may have pp anxiety, aka severe manic anxiety and or panic attacks or agoraphobia. SO far, only a few things have been able to ease the incredibly scary anxiety, which I am going to list here.
The best, by far, is a herbal concoction called Mind Trac by Dr Christopher’s originals ( ). A combination of Skullcap, Valerian, Oregon Grape Root, St. John’s Wort, Mullein Leaf, Lobelia, Gotu Kola, Ginkgo Biloba, Sarsaparilla, Dandelion & Jurassic Green. I have tried many, many, many other supplements ( some of the ones in this combo but on their own) to no avail. Christopher only uses the best quality herbs, organic and wildcrafted. After taking just two the panic attacks subsided. I was absolutely stunned the first time I took them. He makes a kid variety called Kid E Trac ( hard to find sadly). It is recommended for the following ailments:

Ailments traditionally used for: ADD/ADHD, Anxiety, Autism, Dementia, Depression, Hyperactivity, Hysteria, Insomnia, Kanner’s Syndrome, Nervousness, Sleeplessness

Two other herbal supplements that really help calm one’s nerves are passionflower and kava kava. The latter, in its most potent form, is difficult to find as the FDA ( I am holding back on writing fckin dumb asses…sorry I couldn’t help myself) still rant on possible liver damage, when this has been proven false. The only place I have found that carry the potent form is iamshaman (http://iamshaman.com/eshop/10Browse.asp?Category=Kava%20Kava). The kava they carry is organic, and contains a 426 kavalactone/chemotype that is most desirable.

Two amino acid must haves are GABA and Inositol, both of which have a calming effect on the brain.

I myself have been doing what is called EFT, emotional freedom technique, or ‘tapping’ and this has greatly lessoned the frequency of the attacks.
A book to explore is http://www.amazon.com/Pregnancy-Postpartum-Anxiety-Workbook-Compulsions/dp/1572245891/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1279208289&sr=8-1-spell

Anyhow, there are also therapists available the world over, and many women find comfort in talking about how they are feeling and the attacks/agoraphobia. Find out what is right for you but know you are not alone.

About Elizabeth Kelsey Bradley

Writer, Blog Coach, and Digital Strategist based in Thailand. Wellness fan. Gamer.
This entry was posted in agoraphobia, anxiety, birth, depression, manic, panic attacks, parenthood, post partum, pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

